What Did I Just Read?

I’m not sure how I feel about this story. It’s hard to follow, but that’s intentional as far as I can gather given the theme of distraction from genuine human communication. The theme of genuine human interaction makes it read like Vonnegut updating A Brave New World for modern times. It also managed to turn a light worry about meme and reference culture into something deeply unpleasant. It’s also given me ideas for another class I’m taking.

But does this tie into this class, Digital Storytelling? I have no idea. I’m mostly just confused. Are we about to talk about the negative effects of memetic culture? Over-saturation of images and references in our daily lives? A Jibe by the professor at our over-reliance on our distracting phones and computers? I guess I’ll find out.

Leave a Reply

